Sometimes words just aren’t enough

I want to desperately to convey what is going on inside of me, the sadness, the loneliness, the longing, the frustration, the confusion, the sense of separateness, the sense of isolation, the hurt, the pain, the weight, the pull, the exhaustion, the struggle… and yet words sometimes just seem to fall short. How can I accurately convey with words what I’m experiencing in this moment. I cannot. Maybe I shouldn’t have started a blog, since that’s the point, isn’t it? To use words to convey? Convey what? Anything, I suppose. I long to convey what I know to be true to me, what I know to be true inside. And yet I cannot. Something holds me back. Is it the words that are the true limitations, or is it myself? I wonder.

At this time, when words seem to be betraying me, I give you instead an image.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sometimes words just aren’t enough

  1. Bourbon

    Pictures can do as good a job as words. Do you ever draw or pastel or paint? If you do it would be good to see some of your art work. When I read the first para of this post I couldn’t help but think of your charlie tree. Like that charlie tree is how I’d imagine someone to look like who was experiencing all those emotions you described above…

  2. No I don’t really do art. I’ve never really painted or done pastels. The few times I’ve tried it I ended up crumpling them up and throwing them in the waste basket cause I just hated them so much. Too much self criticism. I prefer borrowing other people’s creations to express what I’m trying to say rather than desperately trying to create something that will be nothing but ugly in my eyes. It’s sad, but it’s true. Maybe one day this will change, and I hope it does. Until then, I will happily borrow others artistic expressions.

    Yes the Charley tree is a wonderful representation of what I described.Thank you for drawing that correlation. It makes me appreciate my little tree even more.

Leave a Reply

