I Have No Skin

Do not touch me, for I have no skin.

Stay away, for I have nothing to protect me.

Love, hate, fear, curiosity;

come at me with none of these – they all hurt.

 

Can’t you see I have no skin?

It was torn off long ago.

Not all at once, of course.

It took quite a while, in fact.

A bit here, a piece there.

Until there was nothing left.

Nothing to shield me any longer.

Nothing to protect me any more.

I have no skin.

And yet, where could it have gone?

Leave a comment

Filed under Poems

Leave a Reply

