Loneliness

Some days I am overcome with loneliness. Even though I know I shouldn’t feel lonely… I know I have friends who care about me… I have this job to keep me occupied… And yet sometimes the loneliness just hits me like a tidal wave and I get sucked under.

Maybe it’s depression. I think that’s what it is. And there’s a lot of shoulds. I should be feeling this way, I shouldn’t be feeling that way. I shouldn’t be feeling so sorry for myself. I have everything I could want – a good job, a great partner, a really good therapist… And yet I feel underwater. I have no motivation for anything.

Like right now, I’m at work and there’s a ton of things I should be doing but I can’t get myself to do any of them. All I really want to do is just go to sleep.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

