Sickie

I am sick. Bleh. I do not like being sick. I have some sort of stomach bug, or stomach “virus” as the doctors in the hospital put it. Hospital, you say? Yep, hospital.

Yesterday was one of the worst days that I’ve had in a very long time. I ended up in a heap on my bathroom floor, unable to walk due to dizziness, weakness and nausea, in excruciating pain, and having to call “911” from my cell phone. My partner raced home from work in time to be able to let them in, fortunately – otherwise they would have knocked the door down since I couldn’t come let them in!

They wanted to take me by ambulance to the hospital, but I refused, since I don’t have medical insurance, and I knew it would cost several hundred dollars for the ambulance ride alone. My partner ended up driving me instead.

When I got there, I couldn’t walk from the parking lot into the hospital. I was in too much pain and I also felt too weak and like I would faint. I waited on the curb while my partner came with a wheelchair.

I turned into a little scared kid in the waiting room, and cried and cried and cried since my body hurt so bad. I was also scared and didn’t know what was going to happen. My partner was right there reassuring me through every step.  I also was freezing cold, even though it was a hot day yesterday, and the rude nurse who was admitting me laughed and poked me really hard in the arm when I asked for a blanket, and she said, “Just wait until we get you to your room, silly.” Silly? Really? To ask for a blanket when I’m freezing cold? Her poking me, especially when I was already feeling on edge, especially with my body feeling so sensitive and hurting all over – and let me add, this was not a light poke – well it sent me screaming and I yelled at her, “DON’T TOUCH ME!!!” She just smirked and kept pushing the wheelchair and acted like nothing had happened. Sometimes people are just dumb.

Minus the dumb nurse lady, the staff was all very kind, patient and professional. During the whole admitting process, I felt so awful that I was barely able to speak. My partner needed to translate most of the things I was mumbling to them. Date of birth. Social security number. Home address. Phone number. Allergy to any medicines. Etc etc.

Until…

The magic drug arrived. They finally stuck an IV in my arm and gave me a direct shot of a heavy anti-pain drug as well as an anti-nausea medication. Within ten seconds, I was pain free, warm, and all smiles. Oh the joys of modern medicine! The very nice nurse Dan, who was truly a thrill to have by my side during this whole ordeal, said that I finally had some color in my face. The only downside was that I wasn’t allowed to drink any water, in case there was something more wrong and I would have to have surgery.

Fortunately there wasn’t anything seriously wrong – they determined it was some sort of stomach virus – and sent me on my way, still dizzy yet happy under the effects of the heavy pain meds.

Off to the drug store to fill my prescriptions, then to the market to get me some jello, then home finally. Finally, finally home.

Although I’ve been overcome with severe stomach pain, headaches, and other fun digestive issues today (I will leave that up to your imagination to fill in), I at least am feeling semi-functional, and I am thankful for that. I am on my way to recovery. Now I just have to sit back and… heal.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sickie

  1. What?! I didn’t even know they made anti-nausea meds. Could have used those in my session today lol. Just kidding…you were and are obviously really sick. Hope you get better soon. And I’m so sorry all that happened with the medics and nurse. It sounds awfully uncomfortable.

    Take an imaginary “Get Well” balloon from me. It has Spongebob on it 🙂

  2. Bourbon

    Ugh. Citizens need sacking rights when nurses and other “professionals” act like that. Hope you heal in super fast time 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

