Very Far From Home

These are the lyrics to a Sinead O’Connor song that I’ve been listening to on repeat. The lyrics really speak to me, since I feel like I’ve lost a part of myself that I haven’t been able to find.

Also, she’s talking about being far from home, which I can relate to – ironically since I’ve never really been far from home (I live with an hours drive to my parent’s house) – however I have always been far from home in a symbolic sense. Home should be a place of warmth; a place of comfort; a place of being held. The physically home that I grew up in didn’t feel like a place of nurturing. Home, to me, is cold. Uncaring. At times hostile. Not a place of warmth. So in a way, actually going “home” (to my parents) is, in fact, me going far from home (in my heart).

VERY FAR FROM HOME
by Sinead O’Connor

I don’t know where I go
When I go
I only know
It’s very far from home
And I don’t know where you are
Either
But I know
You’re very far from home

I long for you
I see you in my dreams
So clearly
But when I wake up I’m alone
and I don’t know where you’ve gone
But I know
It’s very far from home

No one knows where I go
When I go
Oh they don’t know
I’m so far from home

And it’s my fault
That you got lost
Oh let me create something
Other than trouble

Oh let me find you
Let me mind you
Even if it has to be
Very far from home

I long for you
I see you in my dreams
So clearly
But when I wake up I’m alone
and I don’t know where you’ve gone
But I know
It’s very far from home
It’s very far from home

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

