I Will Lay Down My Lashes

Tonight when it comes
And I lay down my lashes
The sleep will come gently
The fire turning to ashes
I will slip away gently
To the great world of my mind
I will build mountains so high
And flowery fields so fine
And then when I will awake
No more sorrow to be
The sun will come gently
The day will call to me
The mountains, the fields,
The gentleness, the calm
I will take into my day
And let the sorrow move along
And when night comes around
To summon me once more
I will lay down my lashes
I will knock at its door

Leave a comment

Filed under Poems

Leave a Reply

