Smokey the bear and the mountain girls

My Trip!!

This backpacking adventure was a lot of fun, albeit short. It was a good introduction, and it showed me what my back is capable of. It also showed me that my back truly is healing, and that the worst of it is over.

I also slept really well, another thing I was worried about with my back. The sleeping pad provided plenty of support, and I slept like a baby out in those woods. It was nice because we had the whole campsite to ourselves!

The weather was really nice, especially on the second day. Scattered clouds, cool breezes, warm sun… Perfect!

The one thing I don’t like about backpacking is that you can’t carry all the food your heart desires. For example, it would have been really nice roasting marshmallows and making s’mores around the campfire, but there’s no way in Helga that you would want to carry all that in on your back. The big pack of marshmallows… The big pack of chocolate… The big pack of graham crackers… Basically when you’re backpacking, you take the bare minimum since you’re having to carry everything on your back.

But… We still had a good time – sans s’mores!

I’ll leave you with some pics.

20120705-082133.jpg

20120705-082154.jpg

20120705-082223.jpg
That’s my partner with her big-ass backpack! (And just for the bragging factor, mine was just as big!)

20120705-082324.jpg

20120705-082338.jpg

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Smokey the bear and the mountain girls

  1. Did you camp at Little Jimmy?

  2. Beautiful. That first pic is my favorite. The backpack does look heavy!

    • Aw thank you so much :). The backpack is actually lighter than it looks. Well, sort of. The way it’s designed is so that all the weight is on your hips and not on your shoulders. So it’s really not that bad… Except when climbing a really steep mountain! πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  3. Wow! This looks like one beautiful trip. Glad you had a good break – well earned xx

  4. That looked fantastic!!!! I’m glad you had fun!!!!

  5. Out of the Ashes

    Lovely! Looks like we took a little vacation at the same time. Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

