blogging and gratitude

So it’s 7am on a Sunday morning and I’m awake and blogging. Something must be horribly wrong! Someone call the authorities!

 

Just kidding. I’m in a pretty peppy mood for 7am on a Sunday morning, aren’t I?

 

The reason I’m awake this early is that I’m driving out to the valley today to go hiking. I want to get an early start, because it’s supposed to be hot hot hot today. But I woke up about two hours before my alarm (can you believe it?!!) and thought I would spend the much needed time blogging.

 

I was one of those people who never really “got” blogging. That is, until I started doing it. A friend had a blog, and I thought, what the hell. I’ll give it a shot. And I’m so glad I have.

I know I’ve written ad nauseum about how thankful I am for this community, but I’m just going to go ahead and add another post to the “I am so grateful for this community” heap.

I have always felt a lack of connection, a sense of disconnect, from the world and the people around me. However much I tried, I never felt that I fit in. [And trust me, I tried hard. I even went so far as to join a sorority in college. Not my proudest moment. Don’t judge.]

I apologize in advance for sounding like a Hallmark card, but this blog has provided me with a sense of connection that I’ve never found in the outside world. There are a few select people who I feel understand me, including my partner, but as far as communities go, I’ve just never fit in. But here, we are all connected. People read, people share, people support. I’ve tried explaining to people – like my partner – who don’t blog just how much I get out of blogging. I don’t think she really gets it though. And that’s okay.

So…

I want to extend a very special thank you to each and every one of you who have wandered over to my part of the blogosphere. And for those who have stuck, and who come back – whether it be daily, or whether it be from time to time – just know that I appreciate you more than you can know.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “blogging and gratitude

  1. I find that to be an unexpected bonus of blogging as well. At first I just liked the idea of expressing myself publicly without feeling like I have to censor myself. But I wanted people to read it, except why would they since I’m anonymous? Why would anyone care? But that’s one of the best parts about it–people don’t know your real-world identity, yet they still care.

  2. Have a lovely hike! We are avid hikers here too.

  3. as a newbie blogger (only doing it for 3 weeks) i havent really experienced the community side in full swing besides weegee and dotty who have been really helpful to me! Blogging has really helped with my depression i wish i had thought of it sooner!

  4. Hey, I’m just happy you found some family and friends out here too. Maybe it’s the anonymity; people have always said that it’s easier to share some secrets with a a stranger than with someone you know. I guess it must be because we all feel a little less judged or pressured. 😀

Leave a Reply

