Breathing and letting the dust settle, once again

Certain things have caused me, in the past, to get into a chronically triggered/panicky state. At the time I didn’t realize that this particular thing in my life was causing all the emotional turbulence that it was. When I realized what was happening, I changed the situation so that I could try and get myself back on solid ground.

For a while, the dust began settling, and things felt emotionally stable. Or at least I was getting there. I was staying strong and was refusing to let this thing that had a hold over me in the past infiltrate my life and mind. I have let myself become weak and have made my mind susceptible to this thing that was so destabilizing before. And I only have myself to blame.

Certain habits are so engrained, they are hard to break. Even habits that we know make us worse and unstable. And in my case, make me overcome with dissociation and feelings of panic. I have to put my foot down and say no more. I will not do this thing anymore that ultimately makes me feel bad about myself and turns my emotional world upside down.

Why are we lured into the web of the spider, even when we know we are walking right into a trap?

I must offer kindness and strength and forgiveness to myself for falling into old patterns, and for allowing my mind to become weakened. I will go forward with a renewed strength and intention of my betterment and healing, and forgive myself for putting myself in harms way; forgive myself for walking right back into the spider’s web.

20120709-131132.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Breathing and letting the dust settle, once again

  1. This sounds like a retty good start to me…. 🙂 Chin up xx

  2. Read this again, and again and again. Something in there will stick and be a reminder to you. You’ll slip every now and then, get berated and lambasted by your inner voices, but as long as you can recognise the issues, you’ll find a way to fix them. So like Weegee said, “chin up” m’dear, you’re not invincible, but you’re strong <3<3<3

Leave a Reply

