Accepting my Awards (finally!)

So I’m finally getting around to accepting my awards! To those who’ve been keeping up with my blog lately, you probably know I’ve had a really difficult week. With this weekend has come a nice welcome break from the big emotional stuff I’ve been dealing with. So I thought, what better way to celebrate than by accepting the awards to which I’ve been so graciously given?!

 

 

This 2012 Inspiration Award was granted to me by Angel Fractured. Her blog, The Mirth of Despair, is wonderful and I highly recommend if you haven’t already checked it out, to do so.

 

1. If you were a Disney character, who would you be?

I would be both Nemo and Dory from Finding Nemo.

Nemo because, well, he’s a fish and loves to swim (and has fun doing it), and also because he’s trying to get something back from which he was separated. For him it was his father. For me, it’s pieces of myself that I’ve lost, or have been dissociated, as well as memories of my past.

Dory because she can’t remember anything! To quote her: “Can’t remember diddly. Can’t… remember… squat. Diddly squat!” That’s also why I named my blog what I did: from Dory! “Nope! Nothin in my noggin!”

2. What was your 1st job?

My first job was babysitting. I began babysitting a neighbor’s little boy when I was twelve, and have cared for children ever since!

3. If you had to live in a so called “3rd world country,” which would it be?

I’m not sure if this is considered a “3rd world country” or not, but I would say Bhutan. From what I’ve read about it, it’s supposed to be an amazing place with amazing people. Somewhere that’s definitely on my places-to-visit list!

4. Coen or Farrelly Brothers?

Even though I do love watching movies, it’s always hard for me to remember names of actors, directors, etc. I’m not sure if I’ve seen any Farrelly Brothers movies, but I did see a Coen Brothers movie a while back (it had Tilda Swindon in it) that I really liked. I think. Again the dang memory thing. So I guess I’ll have to go with the Coen Brothers!

5. Favorite baby/child’s book?

Do I have to pick just one?

When I was little, I loved A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. Sadly, I don’t really remember most of it. That reminds me I should read it again! As an adult, I read A Walk in Wolf Wood by Mary Stewart with one of the children I cared for, and it was wonderful.

As for really little-kid books, I love The Runaway Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown (who also wrote Goodnight Moon). It is so sweet, and so endearing, and the message is so wonderful. I would want to be that kind of mother.

6. Favorite non-existent punishment (well, non-existent in “1st world countries”) for monsters who harm the defenseless?

I’m not a big fan of severe physical punishment or torture, to be honest. Even to people who have done horrific things. I think they should be locked away so as to protect other people, but I wonder what good punishment really does? I feel it just perpetuates the cycle of violence. It seems to me that it would just make them want to abuse more. 

This is a boring answer isn’t it!

7. What’s your favorite thing to do that is not strictly legal?

Favorite thing that is not strictly legal? Lol. How bout just legal in general. I can’t really think of anything that I like to do that’s not legal. Well, I take that back… I like to trespass on other people’s properties. Not really. This is mostly a joke with a pinch of reality. There have been two occasions where I have broken the law and “trespassed” – one was to get up close to an amazing castle that I had always seen from a distance and wondered about, the other was to check out this half built mansion that had been abandoned halfway through the building process. It was actually really amazing. And we found a bird’s nest in an alcove with tiny little eggs in it! Okay, now that I brought it up, I’ll have to share a few pics. hehe

8. How many times would you call the cops on your non-native (I’m an immigration professional – the variety that bring people INTO the US, this complaint is not about their race or heritage, it’s about their lack of respect) neighbors playing mariachi music outside all night long because they don’t have to get up in the morning before you just started hucking stuff out the window at them?

Sorry, I don’t like this question. I live in a mostly Latino neighborhood, and I hear quite a bit of Mariachi music when I walk around my neighborhood, especially on weekends. I’ve never once had an experience with anyone playing it late at night or being disrespectful. In fact, I haven’t found that non-native Spanish speaking immigrants have an inherent lack of respect for others. In my opinion, it’s actually the opposite.

Again, here I go giving a boring and dry answer lol.

9. What’s an image that depicts how you feel right now?

I have a strange, eerie feeling that my cat (FC) holds all the secrets to the universe. These secrets will ever elude me.

10. What’s your favorite ridiculous video?

Do I have to choose just one? I think I may have to do several…

Don’t worry, all little ducklings are okay in the end!

This one is especially ridiculous:

Okay, just one more. Promise.

 

I give this award to the following recipients:

Finding My Missing Pieces – I’ve been really enjoying reading this blog. Her story is interesting, and I really enjoy her perspective on things.

poetryandmusings – Kathleen Stevens writes beautiful poetry. She inspires me on a daily basis with her words and poems.

Just a thought… – She writes beautifully, and has a unique voice.

The Depressed Moose – Garry is awesome. Need I say more?

 

**********

 

The Daisy Award

 

~Thank the person who nominated you

WeeGee from How do you eat an elephant! Do check out her blog. She is amazing, her blog is amazing, and I don’t have enough good things to say about her!

 

~Tell your readers seven unusual things about myself

1. I can “crack” my eye balls. Okay, so it’s really not “cracking” them… but it makes a noise that sounds like it. It was always fun to do with groups of people, because they would get really grossed out by it. I don’t like to do it so much anymore, because after a while it kinda hurts!

2. I’ve been skydiving. One of the best experiences of my life.

3. I don’t like nuts in my chocolate. I love chocolate, and I like nuts – walnuts, almonds, peanuts (honey roasted mmm) – but I’d like to keep the two separate thanks.

4. I almost became a nun.*

5. I don’t like wearing dresses, skirts, heels, or makeup. And I don’t like the color pink. I wouldn’t call myself a tomboy, I just don’t feel comfortable wearing those things.

6. I have a shaved head. (Whoop!)

7. I don’t like soda. (Although I have to say that when I was younger (teenager), I loved Diet Coke and couldn’t drink enough of it. Now, it’s just not appealing to me, nor is any other type of soda**. I prefer water, coffee, or juice.

 

* If you want to know details about my “nun” experience, feel free to ask. At the moment all I can say about that is, thank GOD I didn’t actually go through with it – no pun intended.

** I tried a chocolate diet coke the other day when I went out to eat with my friends. I have to say, it was simply amazing.

 

~Nominate some worthy bloggers

Deenakdrowaln – An amazing writer with a very unique perspective and a beautiful way with words.

Pen, Paper, and Crazy – I have just recently discovered this blog, but I am really enjoying it so far. She writes about her experiences of life and her process of dealing with DID.

Tesseract – I have just come upon this blog recently and I really like it. Ellen shares about her life in a way that’s very accessible, easy to read, and interesting. AND her favorite book is A Wrinkle In Time. 😀

The Life You Save May Be Your Own – This is one of my steady favorites. Sara writes about her life, her therapy, her new pup, her kung fu, and more with wit and insight. Oh and she likes to knit which makes her extra cool. Check out her blog if you haven’t already done so!

 

I have one more award to accept, but since I’ve spent so much time on this one, it’ll just have to wait. Perhaps later on tonight if I have time :).

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Accepting my Awards (finally!)

  1. I really enjoyed reading this and learning more about you! And then I noticed my nomination and it brought a big small to my face! Thank you so much. As a newbie still I am so proud you think that I am worthy of this award!

  2. Ooh boy. Another award added to the ones I haven’t written my acceptance speech for.Thank you!!! <3<3<3 Hmm…nun huh? And skydiving…whoa! :-O

  3. Did I mention,these were beautiful photographs. I love your photography!!!

  4. Pingback: Another Award! (Happy Dance!) | The Depressed Moose

  5. I don’t like skirt, heels, makeup, or pink, either, and I’m definitely not a tomboy. In fact, sometimes I wish I was more comfortable in heels because I’m so short without them!

    • It’s funny cause I used to wear skirts, dresses, makeup, and heels (never pink though!). That was when I was extremely emotionally shut down and didn’t know who I was, what I wanted, or nor was I in touch with my own likes or dislikes. Since I started doing the inner work, I am more in touch with these things. So, no dresses or heels or makeup for me thanks!

Leave a Reply

