Contemplation

Getting away from the day to day sometimes can help you look at your life from a different perspective. As I sit here, soaking in the sun and the cool ocean breezes, I’m left wondering about my life and about life in general. Some people say, “Life is beautiful.” I say, life can be beautiful. But it is not always. Yes it is true that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and that there are some people who only see what is wrong in life. I am not one of those people. I try to see beauty whenever and wherever I can. However life can also dictate how much beauty we see, and how much beauty there is. I think some people who have had relatively easy or pain free lives may not consider this. My life has been full of pain and hardship, and for much of my existence, life hasn’t felt beautiful to me. But through the slow and often painful process of healing past traumas and wounds, beauty is becoming more available to me.

I think there is a difference between a victim and a survivor. I’d like to think of myself as a survivor. I was once a victim, yes, as are so many others. My hope for others, as well as myself, is that we can heal our past so that we can see more beauty in the simple things of life. Sometimes it takes a break from the day to say to gain that appreciation of beauty back.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Contemplation

  1. sounds like your break is working wonders on you! and yes you are a survivor!!

  2. Yay, I am very happy for you…enjoy the rest of your vacation. 🙂

  3. This sounds so thoughtful and positive. It was very inspiring for us to read. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  4. i agree with the above…so inspiring and I’m glad you shared this. I too think that life can be beautiful, but sometimes it’s not always possible to see the beauty. And that’s okay, because it’s waiting for you when you’re ready.

  5. So true sweetheart. Here’s to hope – for all of us 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your break. It looks beautiful x

Leave a Reply

